CMM anatomy growth and development research on the cover of The Anatomical Record

Dr. Gignac’s research on suture development, using birds as a model system, has been awarded the January 2024 cover of The Anatomical Record.

Dr. Shanna Hamilton Receives Investigator Award from Sarver Heart Center

Dr. Shanna Hamilton, Assistant Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine, received an Investigator Award from Sarver Heart Center. This award will help support Dr. Hamilton's research which involves testing the therapeutic potential of a novel protein to mitigate the effects of calcium-dependent arrhythmias in cardiovascular disease.

Dr. Paul Gignac Featured in Nature Magazine

Dr. Paul Gignac, Associate Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine, and his NSF-funded Non-Clinical Tomography Users Research Network (NoCTURN) were featured in a Nature Magazine article on making research data more open and accessible. Click to read more.

Insights: Vaccines, variants and COVID-19 trends

Immunologist Deepta Bhattacharya discusses the newest COVID-19 vaccines and what the future might hold for COVID-19 immunizations.

Centriole Length is Controlled by a Conserved Complex of Protein Called the Distal Tip Complex

The Rogers Lab publishes study in Current Biology by lead author John Ryniawec, postdoc, who discovered new regulators of centriole growth, a crucial step during the assembly of this essential and ubiquitous organelle. The authors find that coordination between these evolutionarily conserved regulators is required for reproduction in a fruit fly model organism.

Three CMM Faculty Members Receive WIMS Torchbearer Award

Drs. Valerie Schaibley, Jean Wilson, and Yana Zavros were selected as part of the inaugural Women in Medicine and Science (WIMS) Torchbearer awardees. These awards serve to recognize remarkable achievements and invaluable contributions made by women physicians and scientists.

Dr. Anne Cress Selected as a 2023 Woman of Impact

Anne Cress, PhD, Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine and Vice Dean for COM-T Operations and Strategy and Chief of Staff, was selected as a 2023 Woman of Impact. Each year, the Office of Research, Innovation & Impact (RII) selects 30 UArizona faculty and staff members who have made a significant contribution to the UArizona's identity as a world-class research institution.

Aegis Consortium funds research aimed at reducing the threat of future pandemics

The Aegis Consortium awarded seed funding to eight projects that align with the UArizona Health Sciences center’s mission to create a pandemic-free future.